<SG4> During the Autonomous Period, Drivers and Coaches may handle their own Robot while the
Robot is in contact with their own Alliance Starting Tile (i.e. the tile the Robot started the match on), and
not touching the Bump, within the following restrictions.
i. Drivers and Coaches may only interact with a Robot if it is touching their own Alliance Starting
Tile and no part of the Robot is touching a gray foam tile, except the interaction allowed in
ii. If any part of a Robot is touching a grey foam tile, the only interaction that will be allowed is to
bring the Robot fully into the legal Alliance Starting Tile, into a legal position as per <SG4i>
iii. After any legal interaction with the robot by Drivers and Coaches, and prior to the robot
attempting to score or interact with Game Objects, the robot must be in a position such that it
is touching the legal Alliance Starting Tile and no part of the Robot is touching a gray foam tile;
a legal position as per <SG4i>. i.e. Before the Robot leaves the Alliance Starting Tile, Drivers
and Coaches may not be touching the robot. If Drivers and Coaches touch the Robot again, it
must be touching a legal Alliance Starting Tile and it must immediately be brought fully back
onto the tile.
Note: Robots that hang over the edge of the Alliance Starting Tile, but do not touch any gray
foam tiles, are considered to be in legal positions for interaction as per <SG4>
iv. Drivers and Coaches may only interact with a Robot if they are on or in the general vicinity of
the Alliance Robot Interaction Spot that corresponds to the Alliance Starting Tile the Robot is
on.
At our first competition we attempted a programming skills run. The robot was touching the grey tiles, and a red tile. I brought the robot back enough so I could re-position it. I picked the robot up and set it fully on the tile at the desired angle. I then pushed a button and it went onto the next step. They did not count our 45 points Programming Skills because we picked up our robot to re-position it. Is this not legal?
Karthik
November 19, 2013, 11:44am
2
At our first competition we attempted a programming skills run. The robot was touching the grey tiles, and a red tile. I brought the robot back enough so I could re-position it. I picked the robot up and set it fully on the tile at the desired angle. I then pushed a button and it went onto the next step. They did not count our 45 points Programming Skills because we picked up our robot to re-position it. Is this not legal?
We have **repeatedly **asked you to thoroughly read the VEX Toss Up Game Manual and to please review the Q&A Usage Guidelines before posting in this forum.
VEX Robotics Competition Discussion
VRC > Previous Games
If my robot is touch the alliance starting tile, a grey told, and the bump, would I still be able to pick the robot up and put it into a legal starting position? Typed on nook Forgive typos
https://vexforum.com/t/answered-non-functional-lexan/24476/1
[Answered: Explanation of "attaching to the Goals." - VRC > Previous Games - VEX Forum
The answer to your question is quite clearly in the rule you have quoted. We will not be addressing any more of your questions until you follow the guidelines.](Answered: Explanation of "attaching to the Goals." - VRC > Previous Games - VEX Forum )
I do not believe that the rule <SG4> states whether or not we can manually lift the robot off the ground to re position.
<SG4> During the Autonomous Period, Drivers and Coaches may handle their own Robot while the
Robot is in contact with their own Alliance Starting Tile (i.e. the tile the Robot started the match on), and
not touching the Bump, within the following restrictions.
i. Drivers and Coaches may only interact with a Robot if it is touching their own Alliance Starting
Tile and no part of the Robot is touching a gray foam tile, except the interaction allowed in
ii. If any part of a Robot is touching a grey foam tile, the only interaction that will be allowed is to
bring the Robot fully into the legal Alliance Starting Tile, into a legal position as per <SG4i>
iii. After any legal interaction with the robot by Drivers and Coaches, and prior to the robot
attempting to score or interact with Game Objects, the robot must be in a position such that it
is touching the legal Alliance Starting Tile and no part of the Robot is touching a gray foam tile;
a legal position as per <SG4i>. i.e. Before the Robot leaves the Alliance Starting Tile, Drivers
and Coaches may not be touching the robot. If Drivers and Coaches touch the Robot again, it
must be touching a legal Alliance Starting Tile and it must immediately be brought fully back
onto the tile.
Note: Robots that hang over the edge of the Alliance Starting Tile, but do not touch any gray
foam tiles, are considered to be in legal positions for interaction as per <SG4>
iv. Drivers and Coaches may only interact with a Robot if they are on or in the general vicinity of
the Alliance Robot Interaction Spot that corresponds to the Alliance Starting Tile the Robot is
on.
During contact with the Robot, the Drivers or Coaches may not intentionally manipulate or modify the
position of any Scoring Objects relative to the Robot’s overall system, either by direct hand contact or
indirect contact via the Robot. (i.e. it is acceptable to change the orientation of a Robot that includes
Scoring Objects in it as long as the position of the elements relative to the Robot is not changed).
Drivers or Coaches also may not change the configuration of the Robot in any way other than in the act of
fixing the Robot (i.e. it is okay to reposition the robot relative to the field, but it is not okay to manually lift
up the Robot’s arm, unless you are in the act of a repair). Any changes to the Robot’s configuration
performed during the act of repair must be reversed before the Robot can leave the Alliance Starting Tile.
The intent of this rule is to allow teams to fix Robots that are unable to move, to reposition and/or reorient
Robots, and to activate additional autonomous modes by interacting with the Robot via sensors or
buttons.
The intent of this rule is not to allow teams to manipulate their Robot in such a way that they are
controlling the Robot via human contact or creating motions that lead to scoring.
Violations of this rule will result in a warning for minor offenses which do not affect the match. Egregious
(match affecting) offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams who receive multiple warnings may also
receive a Disqualification at the head referee’s discretion.
Am I allowed to basically juggle my robot around during autonomous or programming skills as long as I obey all the specific <SG4> clauses, and before the time is up, have the robot in a legal starting position (on the tile, not touching the bump, and not touching the grey tiles)? I am asking this because our 42 point programming skills run we completed at Jay County was not counted as valid because we picked the robot up off the tile and changed it’s position (but was still in a legal starting position). Maybe you need to add a specific clause in the game manual specifying that it is, or is not a legal re-positioning maneuver.
I am not trying to be annoying, I just want to know because I am sure it will come up again at competitions and I would like to have your specific ruling on this subject.
Thank you Karthik.
Karthik
November 20, 2013, 12:29pm
4
Yes, this falls under the category of “handling” the robot. Please note, we do not specify every potential type of “handling” nor do we intend to.