At the two competitions I have attended, the referees had opposing viewpoints on the repositioning of the robot during autonomous.
<SG4> states that:
In addition, in <SG5>:
At my first competition, if the robot returned to the alliance starting tile and was touching the bump in any way, we could not reposition it or touch it at all. Also, if the robot was touching the starting tile and a grey tile, we could pull it into the starting tile but still not touch the bump in any way.
Thus, we adjusted our autonomous programs and routines to fit these guidelines. However, at my second competition, it wasn’t okay to start the robot touching the bump per <SG1>, but you could reposition it to touch the bump or while it was touching the bump. It was the opposite ruling from last time.
From the manual’s direct words and especially that clause in <SG5>, it seems like the ruling from the first competition is the correct one, but could you help me verify?
And just to clarify, I believe I read somewhere that when we reposition the robot, we’re allowed to physically lift the robot off the ground to bring it back into the starting tile? I wanted to double check because I couldn’t find the original thread I found that on.
Here are some diagrams to show what I mean because I’m really bad at explaining the situation. Apologies for the crude pictures.