Answered: SG6; not breaking plane vs not imparting energy into game element

I am confused as how to satisfy SG6 and which part takes precedent. The drive team member is not to break the plane of the field but also not impart energy into the ball so it can become scored.

What defines too much imparted energy and what is a legal attempt at tossing the ball onto an awaiting robot versus an illegal attempt? A drop must have some horizontal force applied to it in order to enter the field. How much energy is too much? (it’s a ball and they tend to roll and bounce about rather easily)

Unless the robot is outside the plane of the field I can’t see how the robot can be directly loaded as one part of SG6 says without violating the other part of the rule. Which takes precedent? I assume the breaking the plane is the primary limiter but want to confirm.

Can you also please spend some time in the referee training videos on this rule to help give context there?

Before we start, please take a look at these two earlier Q&A’s which address this topic. In general we kindly ask that you please search the Q&A for similar questions, especially when there are so few entries to search through.

Absolutely! Thanks for the suggestion.


Thanks. The first link is the reason I asked the question as the break the plane rule seemed to be at odd with the answer you gave there.

We allow placement of the balls onto the robots in the loading zone triangle if it is a suitable momentary action in that small area and not causing any safety issues to the loading team member.

Thanks for the clarification even if you thought it was redundant.

You’re welcome. I’m glad you got the clarification you’re looking for!