In <SG8>, we read:
<SG8> Robots may not Possess more than three (3) BuckyBalls at once. Violations of this rule will result in a warning for minor offenses which do not affect the match. Egregious (match affecting) offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the head referee’s discretion.
a. Robots may not intentionally place BuckyBalls on an opposing Robot.
i. Any illegally placed BuckyBalls will be exempt from the determination of violations of <SG8>. Violations of this rule will result in a Disqualification.
Note: It is not the intent of this rule to punish teams who in the process of moving BuckyBalls between Zones, have BuckyBalls accidentally land on an opposing Robot. Teams should design their Robots knowing that BuckyBalls may accidentally land on them.
And possession is defined as:
Possessing – A Robot is considered to be Possessing a BuckyBall if it actively controlling the BuckyBall.
Examples of Possessing include:
• Carrying or holding BuckyBall(s) in the Robot
• Herding BuckyBalls, i.e. intentionally pushing or impelling BuckyBall(s) to a desired location or path
o Accidentally Herding BuckyBall(s) (i.e. driving through BuckyBall(s) in the path of the Robot) is not considered herding, and thus not considered Possessing
• Trapping BuckyBall(s), i.e. intentionally pressing BuckyBall(s) up against a field object
Now, consider two opposing robots, each carrying three BuckyBalls. If one of these robots pushes the other, and thus its BuckyBalls, to a desired location, it is indirectly herding its opponent’s scoring objects per the provided definition of possession. Thus, one could say that the first robot is illegally in possession of six BuckyBalls – the three it directly controls and the three it inside its adversary.
Is this a correct interpretation? What if the two robots are on the same alliance?
Thanks,
David
dnorton:
Now, consider two opposing robots, each carrying three BuckyBalls. If one of these robots pushes the other, and thus its BuckyBalls, to a desired location, it is indirectly herding its opponent’s scoring objects per the provided definition of possession. Thus, one could say that the first robot is illegally in possession of six BuckyBalls – the three it directly controls and the three it inside its adversary.
Is this a correct interpretation? What if the two robots are on the same alliance?
No, this is not a correct interpretation. The maneuver you described does not violate any rules.
Thanks! Just wanted to check.