I noticed that in the VEX Skyrise Referee Training 10 - The Protected Area:
that it was stated that a robot would not be protected under <SG9>
<SG9> Robots may not interfere with an opposing Alliance’s Building of Skyrise Sections in any way. The
following actions are all illegal.
a) Contacting an opponent’s Autoloader and/or contents. (See Figure 22)
b) Contacting an opponent’s Skyrise Base and/or Skyrise. (See Figure 23)
c) Contacting an opponent’s Alliance Starting Tile or the grey foam field tile between the two
Alliance Starting Tiles and located in the corner of the field. (See Figures 24-25)
d) Contacting an opponent’s Robot that is contacting the foam field tiles mentioned in c) and not
contacting any other foam field tiles. (See Figure 26)
e) Contacting any Scoring Objects that are contacting the foam field tiles mentioned in c) and
not contacting any other foam field tiles.
f) Depositing Scoring Objects in/on the opponent’s foam field tiles mentioned in c) or on Robots
or Scoring Objects touching said tiles.
Please note that both direct contact (e.g. Robot making contact) and indirect contact (e.g. Robot
contacting a Scoring Object that makes contact) are considered violations of the above listed clauses
if that robot attempted to score on posts outside of the “protected area.”
Would a hypothetical hand-of-god robot that extends beyond the starting size (15", 18", or 24") and extends beyond the protected area while still touching the protected area no longer be protected by <SG9> if it was only retrieving game objects to score in the protected area? Does this ruling change if the hand-of-god robot is carrying a skyrise section?
All of this assumes that no other rules are being violated in the process, particularly <SG10>.