Answered: SG9

If a robot is holding a stack of cones with a claw and they are not on a mobile goal will it not count toward the possession limit or is that only if they are on a goal?

We ask you to please thoroughly read the VEX Robotics Competition In the Zone Game Manual and to please read and search the manual carefully before posting. It sounds like you’re referring to <SG9> Note 2, which states:

To further understand what this means, let’s look at the definition of Stacked:

Consider the group of Cones referenced in your example. The bottom-most Cone is supported only by the Robot, and neither fully nested on a Goal nor on a Stacked Cone. Therefore, it is not considered a Stacked Cone. Therefore, none of the Cones above it are considered Stacked Cones either.

Thus, the entire collection of Cones would count towards the Possession limit, and this Robot would be in violation of <SG9>.