Answered: Starting position clarification

Hello Karthik

At the competition I was at today, I was setting up my robot for the match. I put my robot on the starting tile in a way where my front wheels were not touching the grey tiles, but were hovering over them. My robot was not touching the grey tiles, and was only touching the starting tile.

I was told this was an illegal starting position and my robot had to be within the starting tile completely. I have been told different things by multiple people, so I just wanted to clarify this.

Thank you!

Let’s take a look at <SG1> from the VEX Robotics Comeptition Starstruck Game Manual.

The rule does not have any restriction against hovering over any other foam tiles, thus the strategy you described is legal.