Answered: Starting Position Clarification

I have a student wondering whether the Plastic Clamping Collar is considered part of the Starting Bar in regards to rule SG1. In other words, can a Robot be placed so it is touching the Plastic Clamping Collar, but not the 1" pipe at the start of a match?

Let’s take a look at the definition of Starting Bar in the VRC In the Zone Game Manual:

The definition only refers to the pipe itself, not the collars. Thus, placing a robot such that it is contacting only the collar would not be a legal starting position.