Answered: Starting Tile Over or On?

Does a robot have to be physically touching the starting tile or just at least be over the colored tile?

We have a design where the chassis is 2" over the colored tile in our desired starting position but the wheel is not actually touching the tile. Is this a legal starting position? Thanks.

Let’s take a look at the specific rule in the VEX Gateway Game Manual to find the answer to your question. I’ve bolded some text for emphasis.

So, yes, the robot must be physically touching the tile. Simply placing the robot such that part of it is over top of the tile is not sufficient.