Answered: Time Outs in the Finals

I just wanted to confirm my interpretation of the following rule, specifically the words in bold:

(emphasis mine)
So in my mind, this states that if a team calls a time out, the head referee can always void it, correct?

Just wanted to understand this rule better, as I had never seen a time out ruled out before until recently, and obviously didn’t read this rule close enough. But also, this would mean exactly what I said it did, it would be voided simply because the referee feels the need to. Yesterday at a tournament we were told back-to-back time outs were not allowed, but this doesn’t seem to be the case now that I see the ruling. However the head referee still had the right to void the time out, if my interpretation is correct.

Thank you in advance!

Yes, this is correct. However, a head referee would only do this in extreme situations. (If a venue has time restrictions, so the event needs to finish by a certain time.)

Alright, thank you! :slight_smile:

You’re welcome!