Answered: Timeouts and <G6>

I have a question regarding <G6>, and how that applies with the alliance timeout. I was at a competition this weekend, and an alliance called their timeout to fix a robot before the match started, but after they placed the two playing robots on the field. The referees ruled that they couldn’t switch out the robots after the timeout, according to <G6>.

My question is: If a timeout is called before the match is started, but the robots are on the field, can the robots be switched out during the timeout? I personally think the refs made the right call, but it didn’t seem clear to us.

Yes, <G6> always applies. Once a Robot has been placed on the field, it cannot be switched out.