The Gateway manual says that any answer given in this Q&A is the official and correct interpretation of the Gateway rules. Does this mean that if I find an answer in the Q&A that declares an action to be legal, could I print out the answer before a tournament and show it to a referee if they disqualify us?
Yes, the Q&A entries are official interpretation of the VEX Gateway rules. The referees are instructed to review the Q&A prior to the event. You are always welcome to discuss any rulings with the referees at an appropriate time, and you may show them whichever documentation you wish.