Answered: Using a scoring object to anchor <SG11>

“<SG11> Robots may not intentionally grasp, grapple or attach to any Field Elements. Strategies with mechanisms that react against multiple sides of a field element in an effort to latch onto said field element are prohibited. The intent of this rule is to prevent teams from both unintentionally damaging the field, and from anchoring themselves to the field.”

another relevant rule is “<G13> Robots must be designed to permit easy removal of Scoring Objects from any grasping mechanism without requiring the Robot to have power after a Match.”

Would a robot be violating <SG11> by using a scoring object to anchor itself to the field provided they are in compliance with <G13>? For example, the team secures their preload cube to the robot such that it cannot be removed by just pulling. The robot then places the cube on a post making it impossible for another robot to move them. Although it does not directly violate <SG11> and poses almost no threat to field elements, it seems that it would violate the intent of <SG11>. Unless, the scoring object is viewed as part of the robot “mechanism” mentioned in the rule.

Thanks Karthik

This would not be considered anchoring to the field and is legal. However, if it is determined that this maneuver is damaging Field Elements, it would be in violations of <S1>.