Answered: VEXU: <R3> c. clarification

Hello Karthik,

<R3> c. states that:
“The following types of mechanisms and components are NOT allowed:
Those that pose an unnecessary risk of entanglement.”

Previous VEX games have enforced this rule by requiring that any connection (tether) between two independently mobile parts of a single robot must be a rigid connection. However in the VEXU game this year, each team only has a single robot, and the two robots are separated from each other by the fence. Since this is the case, it seems impossible that a tether of any type, rigid or otherwise, could be considered a risk of entanglement as long as it was impossible for the opposing robot to come into contact with it. Obviously, this is only the case in VEXU. Given the tether is designed to prevent contact with the opposing robot, it would seem fully within both the stated wording and the intent of the rule that a non rigid connection between two parts of a robot would not be considered an entanglement risk, and should have no problems passing inspection.

Is this interpretation of <R3>c. in VEXU correct?

Thank you for your consideration.

Yes, this is correct. That being said, if your tether somehow manages to entangle an opposing Robot, you would most likely be held responsible for that entanglement.