Are Defensive Rookie Robots Burning Bridges?

I’m currently a member of a rookie VEX team. We made a DR4B with the original intention to focus on towers, but we found that we could play very effective defense against trays by knocking out cubes. Naturally, we began doing this. However, some experienced teams within our organization, as well as an instructor, have warned us about this. They claim that focusing on defense too much as a rookie team will alienate other teams (they won’t like us anymore), up to the point where no teams will pick us and we won’t be able to pick any teams (this might be an exaggeration). In your experience, is this true, or should I expect teams to be able to look past these previous games and pick us?

Edit: Seems like a lot of people didn’t know this, which is understandable because I didn’t write it. Although stacking isn’t out focus (otherwise we’d have a tray) we can still stack fairly well, sometimes outstacking (mediocre) trays, and towering works well too. Defense is just a big focus against teams we normally wouldn’t beat.

2 Likes

Team 902E was disqualified for merely being defensive. Their robot got stuck in their opponents’ wires, and the ref. said that 902E purposefully got ‘stuck’ so the other teams would lose.
I agree with DavisHS. You should be able to learn defense–our bot is defense, too. But be careful, because VEX favors the offensive more than the defensive.

11 Likes

I think people would actually approve of the good defense. I know that I would be impressed if my opponent defended me well
Annoyed, but impressed

3 Likes