Are pushbots viable for early competitions?

I’m new to VEX and was wondering (because we have hardly any time to our first competition) if a pushbot would work in early competitions. Obviously this depends on if we get picked, but what would the optimal pushbot design be for this game if it’s main focus is to push? What are the best options (like wedges, 2 motor scoring or descoring mechanisms, drivetrain type and gearing, etc…)?

1 Like

What I would recommend for teams that do not have a ton of time is a robot like this one: Screenshot (2)

9 Likes

I would do an 8 motor bling drive with a wedge on the front and sides. A 257 in drive on 4 in wheels would most likely to be fast enough to catch up with most of the offensive bots since there is more than enough torque with 8 motors. If you find it necessary to descore, I would just have a stick that deploys in the back to be able to reach into the goals to descore. It would be best to have a very short robot so you can potentially ramp people on the top of your robot. A lot of weight would help with traction so using steel everywhere as well as having tank-like panels to help with impact.

3 Likes

viable? no… you won’t win much unless everyone else is absolute garbage

as for doing it for fun? sure, go for it. would probably feel good to get those 1 or 2 wins against actual bots with nothing more than a push bot

5 Likes

Why do I kind of want to do this now…

3 Likes

What if a good team recognises it (I’ve seen it happen before) and picks you for alliance selection (early season obviously), it could work?

Are wedges that can get under the opponent and almost (not fully) tip them over legal, as long as they don’t get tipped or entangled?

anything can happen, it’s just not likely

i would never intentionally pick a dedicated push bot, no matter how early the season it is

9 Likes

your answer here is yes

3 Likes