Autonmous Rules

I’ve been watching different autons of the protected goal zone, and I’ve noticed none of them go for the vertical stack of 4?? (for traybots). So if your cubes fall into the other side, will the opposing alliances get the auton bonus?

No. Cubes are not scored unless they are in goal zones.

The stack of 4 isn’t often gone for just because the traybot meta can’t handle grabbing prestacked cubes

So if your cubes fall into the other side, will the opposing alliances get the auton bonus?

And no. Cubes falling on the other side would not effect the auton bonus.

The refs at our recent tournment did not call it this way, a cube crossing the auton line was an auton forfeit, I think there is a Q and A up on that right now.

You may be interested in the robot on the bottom right going for the stack of 4

In one of the more recent Q&A answers, it was clarified that if you did cause cubes to contact the opposite side of the auto line, it could result in loosing auton.

https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2019-2020/QA/405

2 Likes

As a head ref, my read of the recent Q&A is that causing a cube to contact the opposite side of the auton line WILL result in losing auton, and if it’s match affecting might also get you DQed for the match.

1 Like

sorry I had not read <G11> in depth - for others to understand here it is and supports your Head Referee’s guidance:

<G11> All rules still apply in the Autonomous Period. Any infractions committed during the Auton- omous Period that are not Match Affecting, but do affect the outcome of the Autonomous Bonus, will result in the Autonomous Bonus being automatically awarded to the opposing Alliance.

  1. Teams are responsible for the actions of their Robots at all times, including during the Autono- mous Period. Any infractions committed during the Autonomous Period that are Match Affect- ing can result in a Disqualification, if warranted by the rule.
  2. If both Alliances cause infractions during the Autonomous Period that would have affected the outcome of the Autonomous Bonus, then no Autonomous Bonus will be awarded.
2 Likes

so if causing a cube to cross the line is illegal, wouldn’t the china middle school finals be reffed incorrectly based on this logic? I’m just confirming because they do not make many mistakes, and this could affect many teams autons that have that cube fall and potentially roll.

Here is the match link-China VEX National Championship - Middle School Final1 - YouTube

By my read of the clarified rule, a lot of teams (including Asia Pacific) will have to adjust their autons before Worlds. I head reffed a high school tournament the day after the Q&A, and made it very clear how I’d be implementing the rule. Several teams who otherwise might have won auton lost because of errant cubes crossing the line, and one match had no autonomous winner because both had cubes cross.