Autonomous Cube over Line

During Autonomous, if any one cube goes over the line is that an instant autonomous loss. Even if the cube going over the line is entirely unintentional and doesnt affect the other alliances auton in any way? It seems like overkill to protect teams autons this year.

Yes that is true. That is what they have concluded.

Questions about rules should be answered by consulting the game manual. The relevant rules here are SG2 and SG7:

This Q&A entry provides further clarification on this issue.

In general, it’s a good idea to search the game manual and Q&A before asking rules questions.

1 Like

Intentional or not, interfering or not, doesn’t matter, if you cause a cube to cross the autonomous line, you lose autonomous. It is less about overkill than it is to make the referees job easier. The referee does not have to establish intent or whether the cube interferes with the opponent’s autonomous. It is a clear cut rule. Don’t do it, period or lose autonomous automatically.


However, you can move neutral cubes and not be DQ’ed

What happens if it lands on the line?

If it touches the opposing side’s grey tile, it is over the line and you lose autonomous. The neutral cubes are the exception as they were already straddling the autonomous line.

Can this be referenced by a comment from VEX or somebody on the game committee? Just in case we need to prove a piont at a tournament to a judge.

Check this forum thread

1 Like

I would if the link existed

1 Like

RIP. Thanks for answering its just frustrating to make a 8 cube auton without that happening.

Not quite sure this is true - consider the case of a robot lifting their side of the neutral cube during autonomous. Cubes are an extension of the robot once in their control, so would this not be considered the robot making contact with the opposing side tiles? This would be a case of automatic transferring of autonomous bonus to opposing alliance.

1 Like

no. The manual says in SG2:

1 Like

That’s fine, but once you pick it up on one side and make contact with it to the other side that connection of contact, does it not extend to the opposing side? There is some debate about this amongst teams and referees.

I think it is an edge case not likely to happen, but non-zero.

Yes, see the Q&A link I posted above.

Yes he is right

20 c