Autonomous period scoring

After looking all over the rulebook, I found that you could score in the center row of goals and that it does not break any rule as long as your robot does not cross the line. However, I could not find out what would happen if you miss and the ball crosses the auton line (assuming it was a ball lying on the center line). Would you be dq’ed, or would the game continue if the ball was taken from the centerline, rendering the ball neutral?

Here is a quote from the game manual.

Stay on your side in Autonomous. During the Autonomous Period, Robots may not contact the foam tiles or Balls which are on the opposing Alliance’s side of the Autonomous Line. Robots may not contact the Goals that are in the opposing Alliance’s Home Zone.
Violations of this rule will result in the Autonomous Bonus being awarded to the opposing Alliance. Intentional, strategic, or egregious violations, such as intentional contact with an opposing Robot while completely across the Autonomous Line, will result in a Disqualification.
Note: The three (3) Goals contacting the Autonomous Line are not considered to be on either side,
and may be utilized by either Alliance during the Autonomous Period. If attempting to utilize these Goals, Teams should be cognizant of the possibility that opponent Robots may attempt to do the same. , , , and will be taken into account when these types of Robot interactions occur.
Keep Balls on your side in Autonomous. Balls that start fully on one side of the Autonomous Line may not contact the foam tiles on the opposite side of the Autonomous Line during the Autono- mous Period.
Incidental violations of this rule and have no impact on the opposing Alliance will result in a Warning. Violations of this rule that affect the opposing Alliance’s autonomous routine will result in the Autono- mous Bonus being awarded to the opposing Alliance. Examples of affecting the opposing Alliance could include, but are not limited to, a Ball moving another Ball or getting in the path of a Robot.
Note: Balls that start on the Autonomous Line are not included in this rule.

@9MotorGang hmm, what about the balls that start in the wall goals along the centerline

They are fair game. After all, it doesn’t say anything about scored or unescorted, and they do start on the line. Here is a link to a previous topic of mine with some questions.

1 Like