I am preparing for worlds and just wanted a reference if this shows up in a match. If an opponent drops a ball or cap in your robot and you are unable to get the objects out can you continue to pick up 2 more balls and another cap since this would be your opponent making you break a rule?
Per G11 intentional strategies that force another robot to violate a rule are not permitted. If another robot purposefully placed a cap or ball in your robot, then if it ends as match-affecting, then the opposite alliance will be disqualified. You would never be allowed to have three balls or two caps. If anything drops into your robot on accident, then you can’t do anything.
Well, there are multiple rules to consider here.
SG4> Watch your Possession limit. Robots may Possess a maximum of one (1) Cap and two (2) Balls at a time. Note: Robots that interact with High Scored Caps while already Possessing a Cap will undergo additional scrutiny regarding this rule. Minor violations of this rule that do not affect the Match will result in a warning. Match Affecting offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee’s discretion.
SG6> Keep Game Objects to yourself. Robots may not intentionally drop or place Game Objects on an opponent Robot.
G11> You can’t force an opponent into a penalty. Intentional strategies that cause an opponent to violate a rule are not permitted, and will not result in an infraction on the opposing Alliance. Minor violations of this rule that do not affect the Match will result in a warning. Match Affecting offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee’s discretion.
Basically, if you have possession of said balls and cap, you cannot pick up any more. If your opponent accidentally or even purposefully dropped them on your robot, then you can’t simply ignore them. This is a call for the head ref since the opponent may have violated the above rule and would potentially be disqualified if it was match affecting. Hope this helps.
So even if your opponent dropped one in your robot and you couldn’t get it off you would only be able to pick up 1 more ball? Therefore limiting your robot to do half of its job at half the speed?
Correct. However, if you lose and the unintended possession is determined to be match affecting, the opposing team could be DQ’d at the head refs discretion.
Just because another robot may have violated the rules does not mean you are allowed to ignore them as well.
Ok thanks that help a lot
I suggest designing your robot in a way that balls can’t get stuck in it.