Build directions for H drive

Hi all. I’m a new coach with Vex and I’ve seen a few robots using the h drive train in order to move left and right as well as front and back. I haven’t been able to find any sort of directions online to help our students figure out how to build something like this at the elementary level. If anyone has something like this to help, I’d appreciate it! Thanks!

good source here

What language are you using to program, RobotC, Modkit, etc…?

We’re starting out with Modkit this year.

Thanks for this link. I have the same question as well. Are there any step by step instructions that can be used by an elementary school level team? The photos at the link are great, but my kids might get frustrated trying to build from those alone.

I understand this is an old thread, but anyway, how do you access that article on robolink? It’s asking me for a password.

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

1 Like

From a build concept perspective, here’s a quick guide. Start with a normal tank drive. I’d make two identical sides by attaching wheels between a set of c-channels, making sure to use pillow blocks (bearing flats) any time the axles pass through metal.

In order to power the wheels, attach motors on the insides of the c-channel.

From here, attach both sides of the base with cross bars, leaving enough room in between the bars for your fifth wheel.

Power the middle wheel similarly to the others

This is just the concept, so youll encounter a couple issues to work through when building but hopefully it gives you a basic understanding of H drives.

Things to play with:
If you don’t have 5 motors, you can use 3 and chain the tank drive motors together.
The cross bars will not be on the same level as the tank drive channels, so you’ll need to figure out how to mount the middle wheel lower than the cross bars.