C++ Pro - Help with Slew Rate

I’m new to VCS and C++ and i am trying to transition from the old vex programming. Right now I’m trying to make a slew rate void or function since there is no Jpearmen library anymore :(, and I’m getting an error. I figured the error is because it doesn’t know what a string is. Also I’m trying to pass a string into parameters and I’m its not working.
This is the code:

void slew_rate(std::string MotorName, int end_power, int time, int destination ){

int deg = MotorName.rotation(vex::rotationUnits::deg);
while (destination != deg){
    int power = 5;
    MotorName.setVelocity(power,vex::percentUnits::pct);
    MotorName.spin(vex::directionType::fwd);

while (power != end_power){

power += 5;
        vex::task::sleep(time);
        } 
 }

}

As you can see, the MotorName would be name of one of the motors that im trying to set the slew rate for but it doesnt recognize them. i don’t want to make a slew rate function for every motor. Please help.

You definitely can’t use a

string

in such fashion.

You probably want to pass a pointer to the desired motor and act on the object pointed to by that pointer.

void doStuff(vex::motor *motorObject) {
  // ...
  motorObject.spin(vex::directionType::fwd);
  // ...
}
void otherFunction() {
  vex::motor someMotor(/* ... */);
  doStuff(&someMotor);
}

More about pointers:
https://www.tutorialspoint.com/cplusplus/cpp_pointers.htm

@Barin Thank you, I will try this

void slew_rate(std::string MotorName, int end_power, int time, int destination ) {
    int deg = MotorName.rotation(vex::rotationUnits::deg);
    while (destination != deg) {
        int power = 5;
        MotorName.spin(vex::directionType::fwd);

while (power != end_power) {
            power += 5;
            vex::task::sleep(time);
        }
    }
}

I don’t have V5 yet, but there are a few things that are unlikely to work in your code.

while (destination != deg)