Code help (Motor)

So i want the R1 to spin a motor reverse, and I want L1 to spin the motor Forward but is is not working

if(Controller1.ButtonR1.pressing())
      mid.spin(reverse);

if(Controller1.ButtonL1.pressing())
      mid.spin(forward);

I am no coding expert, but

I thing you need brackets?? also you have to tell the motors to stop at some point…
and you need the motors to move on some value I believe, whether velocity or voltage.
see if this works

//reverse
if(Controller1.ButtonR1.pressing()) {
mid.spin(reverse, 12, voltageUnits::volts);
} else {
mid.stop();
}
//forward
if(Controller1.ButtonL1.pressing()) {
mid.spin(forward, -12, voltageUnits::volts);
} else {
mid.stop();
}

-12 volts is the same as going backwards, also u don’t have to have voltage control, but that’s what I do.

You don’t need bracket for an if statement if there is only one function. Can you describe what exactly is not working? (i.e. motors don’t spin, they never start spinning, they spin once but don’t again, etc.)

1 Like

eah, @JThomas is right. You need brackets.

if(Controller1,ButtonR1.pressing()){
mid.spin(reverse,100,velocityUnits::pct); /* pct runs the motors on a 
percentage of their overall power, which I prefer over volts personally,
and find it easier to use/*
} // First 'if' statement spins the motor in reverse when conditions are met
else{
mid.stop();
} // If these conditions are not met, don't spin the motor

if(Controller1.ButtonL1.pressing()){
mid.spin(forward,100,velocityUnits::pct);
} // When conditions are met, fulfill the code in the brackets
else{
mid.stop();
} // if not, stop the motor.

Really quick piece of advice in relation to voltage control: The newer rev 10 motors have been proven to die when quickly switching between 12 and -12 volts. I would recommend being careful when using voltage control (a.k.a. limiting voltage to ±11 volts, introducing a slew rate, or using the native velocity controller).

3 Likes