**<SG2> Robot expansion is limited once the Match begins. As per <G3>, at the beginning of a
Match, each Robot must be smaller than a volume of 18” (457.2 mm) long by 18” (457.2 mm) wide
by 18” (45.72 mm) tall.
a. Once the Match begins, a Robot which is contacting the Expansion Zone may expand
vertically with no height limit. However, once fully outside of the Expansion Zone (i.e. no
longer contacting it), the Robot must return to a height limit of 18” (45.72 mm) tall.
b. Once the Match begins, Robots may expand, but no horizontal dimension can exceed 36”
(914.4 mm) at any point during the Match.
I have been searching and rereading theses expansion rules, but I haven’t gotten a clear answer. Or maybe I just need some clarity since this will affect the designs of some robots on my team. Maybe I am the only one confused, so here are my questions:
I will use a clawbot as the example,\
If the arm of the clawbot picks up a ball and brings it higher than 18 inches, that is a violation? True or False, I think it is true according to the rules.
If I raise the arm of the clawbot up but does not go over 18 inches it is not a violation? True or False, I think that is true according to the rules.
So theoretically, a clawbot arm is not in violation as long as it does not go over 18 inches unless it is in the expansion zone? Is this correct?**
True. The ball can be higher than 18", just not part of the robot (unless it’s touching the expansion zone).
True. Correct, there is no violation if you remain under 18".
Last point: Eh, sort of. There are two rules on expansion. Never going above 18" means you never violate one of the rules. But you still have to make sure you don’t expand too much horizontally.
My interpretation regarding this rule, allows for minor infractions, such as your scenario, based on the following…
“A Robot which interferes with gameplay as a result of violating this rule, such as Scoring a High Flag or blocking a launched Ball while outside of the Expansion Zone, will result in a Disqualification, whether the interference is Match Affecting or not”
But as usual, we should get more clarification on “time” in the violation???
Whereas, “However, once fully outside of the Expansion Zone (i.e. no longer contacting it), the Robot must return to a height limit of 18” (45.72 mm) tall.” …thus,must return, does not mean, has to be, before exitting??? So, question would be , how long does a robot have to “return” outside the expansion zone??? I would presume, as long as it does not “block or touch high flag” in it’s “return” .
From what I gather by reading the first comment, you may expand horizontally up to 36" regardless of whether or not the robot is in the expansion zone, while a robot may only expand vertically if it is in an expansion zone?