Rule SC3b says that for a sing to be considered Scored, it must not be contacting a gray foam tile. In Figure SC3-2, however, it looks like the top ring is touching the tile, but the figure still marks the ring as being Scored. If a Mobile Goal has fallen over and the Top Ring (or even the ring beneath it) is touching a tile, is it still considered scored?
Nice find! Q&A it!
20 donuts
The rule clearly states that if a ring is contacting a gray foam tile, it is not scored. The note under figure SC3-2 states that the six rings highlighted in green meet the criteria above, so while it may seem to be contacting the foam tile in the image, for the purposes of understanding this rule, it is not.
Maybe
But still we need a clarification it could be considered scored since it s in the stake even if it s touching the foam tile.
There is nothing unclear about SC3b. There is no “maybe” here. The image must be of rings supported above the foam by contact with the red ring.
There is no additional clarification required. The rule is very clear, and would mean exactly the same thing even if the image was not provided. The image which accompanies a rule never dictates the specific details of the rule, and is only for additional clarification - in this case, the image looked a bit unclear, but the rule remains exactly the same: ‘If it is touching the ground, it is not scored’ - simple as that.
I disagree. Pictures are a part of a rule, and it should be easy to discern the rule’s meaning by consulting the picture as well as the rule.
But yes, if no clarification is made, the written rule takes precedence.
Question was asked in the official q&a. The picture will be clarified in the next version of the manual (supposed to show goal propped up by the ring on the field so the rest are scored)
Actually, no, you are incorrect, pictures are not the rule. The text is the rule - the picture is a graphic. There have been cases where graphic conveyed wrong information - text is the rule.
Let’s not obfuscate a resolved issue.
Really? I did not know this. I guess I assumed that any table or image given in the rule was to be treated as the rule.
Excuse my misunderstanding. Didn’t mean to falsely inform.
There’s also been instances when text is wrong too
I will have to peddle back a bit - in most cases graphics are used to illustrate the rules. In some, as is case with field specifications and field setup, they are integral part of the game manual. Ditto for tables - an example the table for scoring section gives point values for certain, but not all situations. For example, Autonomous Bonus 6 points - but does not inform about the exception of tie, in which case the Autonomous Bonus is worth 3 points.
Indeed, and pre-version 1.0 manual are meant to help get it right.
Q&A is a good place to post errors in the manual.
Version 1.0 will be out soon
I agree with Micahy321 here that pictures are part of the rule. Both pictures and text exist to convey how the rule should be interpreted. In instances like this where they contradict each other, the rule becomes unclear. Either one of them could be incorrect. In the places where the manual shows how the field should be set up at the beginning of a match, the pictures are the only things you can use to interpret the rule.
I meant to link the official answer in my above post (I had already asked this question on the official q&a)
This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.