Control PID

Hello good morning, I’m new to programming I ask for ccontrol And I would like to see if any of you can help me code a control pid for autonomous, that starts the robot fast and as it gets closer to its target it reduces its speed to zero.

Please someone who can help me :pleading_face::pray:

1 Like

Search YouTube, Google, and VEX Forums. It’s out there. Nobody’s going to give you the code.

Many people here have helped me with small pieces of code or examples to support me and be able to create my code, and I really think those are the people who are worthwhile and make the world Be better.

Really, if you did not want to contribute anything to this topic, you would have better saved your words.

4 Likes

I’ve found the document here to be extremely helpful towards helping me understand how PID controllers work and how to implement them. It explains the concepts in a simple and easy to understand way and even has pseudocode at the end that you can use as a guide for writing your own PID loop. Additionally it explains the process for tuning your PID constants.

4 Likes

I’d like to start out by saying that Giving out code doesn’t help you in the long run, understanding the code is what will help you, people that help with parts of code are helping you understand how it works, but people who just give the code with no explanation don’t.

What you are looking for (a PID controller) can be simplified to a less accurate but easier for beginners to program that is just a P loop (one piece of the PID), and if you are looking for a great place to start I would start with just a P loop.

A P loop, which means a proportional loop, is made when you set the motor power to be the difference between the position the motor is at and the position where you want the motor to be at (or the error).

My first P loop program I made a function to call whenever you want to use the loop where you put in the distance you want to go

void drive(float dist) {

}