Control Theory

Hello folks!

For those who do not remember me, my name is Robert. I have been a Vex fan since the very beginning when RadioShack was selling Vex kits :eek: and even before that admiring the robots on vexlabs.com. I have come a far way since I built my first squarebot a couple years back and I am forever grateful for discovering Vex and the implications it had on my college education. Now to get to business!

I am currently an aerospace engineering student and am looking forward to graduate studies in the field of control theory. You may ask, what is control theory? Personally I had never heard of it when I was in high school… You might have heard the intimidating ‘PID’ word floating around the robotics’ threads or were amazed by how well the world championship robots follow the white line SO accurately or how an arm moved to a position so fast and smooth without jerking the entire bot. Well I was always intrigued by these sophisticated robots (especially the balancing bot) but I never could quite figure out how these robots worked. Well NOW that I have this stuff figured out pretty well, I have decided to give back to the Vex community and make a series of tutorials introducing you to controls. These tutorials would start with the very basics and would make their way through quite sophisticated material, all the while keeping you guys in mind. The only real downside is that these tutorials would be mostly theoretical though since I do not have a Vex Kit anymore and cannot test anything (too expensive for me when they upgraded… :() but i’m hoping they’re helpful enough for you guys to apply this knowledge

So the question is. What would you guys like to see? line following, balancing bot, arm movement, encoders, gyros, u name it!

Technic-R-C

balancing robot on a gateway ball :slight_smile: