Corona virus UV-c N95 mask sterilization project

We built a corona killer! Check it out:

image image

8 Likes

I hope that isn’t actually UV-C, this recent article suggests it’s something to stay away from.

15 Likes

I doubt it. The cardboard box suggests that they are regular Phillips brand, and the video says around 1:00 that they’re “using these shop lights for purposes.”

Yeah using UV-C bulbs like that would be risky to say the least.

I think that UV-C lights are used in most high school science labs safety goggle shelves to disinfect safety glasses so it’s probably safe enough for this particular use case. If I’m not mistaken the concern is with prolonged direct exposure to the skin, but as long as the chest is closed during use I don’t see any major issues. But then again I’m not a scientist.

1 Like

Philips makes UVC lamps. The exact lamp in question, shown at 2:35, is this one, which is indeed a UVC lamp.

I think the word “demonstration” somehow got cut out in the audio.

I may be wrong, but, as far as I understand, UVC is safe as long as you are not exposed to it.

Here is a video from bigclivedotcom discussing UVC, including a demonstration of a lamp very similar to the one shown in the video.

4 Likes

I have to admit I didn’t even see the video, just the open box with lights on and words UV-C. Ok, so assuming there is some sort of interlock so that the lid can not be opened with the lights on, guess it would be ok.

3 Likes

Given the warning stickers on the lid I bet there isn’t an interlock yet. it’d be a great use for a limit switch!

Great idea!
Cheers

We find it funny that while we are typing a response to your questions, you are coming to realize that you made knee jerk decisions to reply so quickly. We are all scientist at heart guys. Do some research before replying.