Declining a World Championship Qualifying Award

If your team has already qualified for Worlds before, can you decline an award (ex. the Excellence Award)? This would be done so that another team that hasn’t had the chance to qualify can.

If this is permitted would the second choice fall to the meet directors or to the team that has received the award initially?

I feel that if your team already has already qualified then they should have the option of giving another team the qualifying spot.

In my experience going to a meet where one team qualifies three or four times when there are teams that obviously deserve to go can be painful to watch.



It is not possible for a team to win an excellence award, decline it and give it to another team.

If you don’t want to be judged for a particular award during an event, then when you check-in for the tournament, you should notify the tournament host and head judge that your team does not want to be considered for the judged awards.

Please let me know if you have additional questions.