How will autonomous be counted if, let’s say, red alliance descores a blue ball? Will the blue alliance get one point removed from their autonomous score, or will no difference be made in the auton score?
Yes, a point is removed.
Suggest that Autonomous bonus 6pts is on the line, if this follows previous competitions these 6pts will go to the highest point count at the end of 15 sec OR 3pts each if a tie OR awarded to the other team in event of crossing the middle line in physically touching gray tiles on opposite side. OR (0) pts if both sides end up violating same rule.
Is descoring worth the risk of not completing the Autonomous WP ?
So every point that is already in a goal at the beginning of the match is scored during auton, so yeah points would be removed for each ball descore from that alliance’s color.
It’s not really a risk if it all if (say you were on the red alliance) you descore the blue ball on the bottom middle tower. You can still score the WP.
In the reveal video on VEX’s youtube channel, it specifically says “during the driver control period robots can remove balls from any goal at any time”
I assumed this meant you’re not allowed to de-score balls during autonomous. Am I incorrect in thinking this?
Note: I know this isn’t what this thread was originally intended for but I don’t see the point in creating a new one for a similar enough topic and cluttering the forum
the game manual is where the rules are, not the video. I see why you would think that, but there is nothing in the manual that prohibits descoring during auton, therefore it is legal.
<G18> It's not over until it's over. Scores will be calculated for all Matches immediately after the Match once all Balls, Field Elements, and Robots come to rest.
a. The determination of the Autonomous Bonus will occur for all Matches immediately after the Autonomous Period after all Balls, Field Elements, and Robots come to rest.
b. The determination of any Autonomous Win Point(s) will occur for all Matches immediately after the Autonomous Period after all Balls, Field Elements, and Robots come to rest.
Only the final state of the field after the Autonomous Period is scored to determine the Autonomous Bonus, and thus any descoring would be factored in.