Discussion: Judge [sic] using their own camera to review footage to make/change a call

In VRC Startstruck Official forms, @AperatureLabs asked:

Is it allowable for a referee/judge to take their own photographs or video of a match to refer to afterwards to verify rulings?

As a referee, I recently used a recording device of my own to document and verify a ruling on a complex “supporting” cascade of a robot dangling a claw full of objectives over the fence that may or may not have been supported by an opponent.

If so, theoretically I would argue that I could use my own video evidence to tell if an objective made contact with a bot before going out of bounds if I didn’t catch it when it happened late in a match, or to determine if robots stayed out of opponents scoring zones during autonomous.

I understand that the spirit of the rule banning review/replays is to respect the calls of the referee and allow the matches to occur with little to no red-tape. That being said, is it acceptable for referees to record and review footage, and for instance change their autonomous ruling later after deliberation without petition from competitors?

You need to hear from the community on this. Let me say:

Good god I hope that’s not okay. What a debacle that could lead to.

Refs need to call what they see. Keep in mind the spectators would never be able to see what you did this way. Private video could be used to justify anything. The reason they have instant replay in televised sports is not in order to increase fairness; it’s that sometimes the home viewers see things on repeated replay that the officials in the game don’t see. So fans get upset.

Here, you easily could have the reverse of that situation. As tough as it is, I think VEX needs to live with the calls made on the field.