Does the horizontal expansion plane change with robot orientation throughout the match?

My team and I have a question about rule SG2

Robot expansion is limited once the Match begins. Per , at the beginning of a Match,
each Robot must be smaller than a volume of 18” (457.2 mm) long by 18” (457.2 mm) wide by 18” (457.2 mm) tall. Once the Match begins, Robots may expand, but no horizontal dimension can exceed 36” (914.4 mm) at any point during the Match. See Figure 24.

What is considered horizontal? For example say a robot were to tip over in the middle of the match yet continue driving, Would what was previously a valid vertical expansion size that was tipped to be horizontal be in violation of the rule? Or is the horizontal plane determined at match start and even after tipping over the robot won’t be disqualified for being expanded too far on what was the vertical plane.

I’d expect that the horizontal plane would need to be determined at match start so that a robot that tips and then self rights wouldn’t be considered disqualified.

1 Like

Welcome to the forums @davyn49 !
Horizontal would be considered the farthest point on the back of your robot (with everything extended that can extend) to the farthest point on the front of your robot. This can be a straight line, but generally a diagonal line if the farthest points on your robot have a larger span than a small, skinny part. If your robot (fell over and) was expanded over the limit of 36” from farthest point to farthest point, that would be considered a violation. (this has happened to me once when our bot climbed over another and fell over, we got a warning that would’ve been a DQ if we would’ve won the match) Hope this helps!

2 Likes

https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2021-2022/QA/835

8 Likes

I edited the OP to fix some formatting. (The rule number was inside <>, and was being hidden)

6 Likes