Elevation Protecting Rulings

Hello Vex forum! I have a question regarding a rule in the game manual.

The elevation protection rule seems a bit odd to me and I’m curious how you guys have solved it. For the last 30 seconds of the game you can’t touch the enemy teams designated elevation area regardless of whether they are actually trying to elevate or not.

The issue is that the opponent can simply push all of the tri-balls from their side onto your side from that elevation area which you aren’t allowed to be in.

How do you counter this? How do you prevent them from just scoring free points during those last 30 seconds without “interfering” with their elevation? Has there been any recent rulings on this?


I would argue that if the robot is not trying to elevate, but simply push triballs to the other side, then it would not be “protected”.

I figured that too. We played our first tournament today and got called on it as a violation. So I was mainly curious if it was being considered a violation anywhere else or if the ref was just being weird. And if it was being considered a violation how people were dealing with it.

If the opposing team is not attempting to elevate, then you may interfere with their elevation bar.

1 Like

Really, if a team is using something against you, then you should use it against them.

Read SG11, read the numerous QA’s on SG11. You don’t have to leave the elevation area. There are 4 things your not allowed to touch if your opponent is in the process of elevating. You absolutely can get in the way of elevating as long as your not touching the 4 things. You don’t have to get out of the way. If your opponent is not in the process of elevating then touching the short black bars or their elevation bars is only a minor violation. Read the notes on SG11. Some refs are over zealous on calling violations or don’t understand what is allowed or not allowed.

Unfortunately, that wasn’t an option as many teams I played against couldn’t shoot over the middle. Meaning the only people capable of scoring this way were my opponents as I had no tri-balls to push lol.

I was at a tournament yesterday and whenever a team was pushing us around in the last 30 seconds, the refs would give us a J-tier hang regardless of whether or not we ended up hanging in the end.

Ref’s make mistakes. Obviously that’s not automatically interfering with the hang. Somebody should have been asking the ref to show them the rule. Whenever you disagree with a call you can respectfully question it and ask to see the rule.

When you say the ref gave you a J-tier hang, do you mean he gave you 20 points or he used high hang to figure out if it was match affecting and DQ’d the offending team? That is some thing I’ve heard misinterpreted this year. A legit interfering with a hang is not 20 more points it should be used for match affecting calculation and if it is then it’s a DQ for the offending team.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.