Ethics of Competitive Robotics

Hello everyone,

I am a high school senior, and I am in my fourth year of being a programmer on our school’s VEX Robotics Team. While I have learned a lot of technical things, I find myself wondering about this question:

Why isn’t there a rule in the Starstruck Game Manual that says that all robots entered in competition need to be built and programmed by students?

It is a simple case of there is no way you can enforce the rule.
Nobody knows what is really happening inside the lab.

I would rather educate the teams’ mentors and teachers so that more of us understand the correct value system of Vex.

I think meng is correct - it’s impossible to enforce a rule like that.

I know, it’s a tough topic to sort through because there are so many facets to the arguments for and against adult help. There have been many LONG discussions about this on the forum. See, for example, this: https://vexforum.com/t/a-question-about-teams-being-disqualified-for-awards/28944/1

And this: https://vexforum.com/t/adults-doing-everything/32266/1

You can watch the Judge Training Presentation under the Judges Tab and you will see explicit guidance not to award Judged awards to teams for a number of reasons, one being if it is clear only an adult is working on the robot with no students around. Similarly, a team’s conduct and lack of sportsmanship can disqualify a team for consideration of a judged award. So

And they also disqualify “clone bots”. If that rule is actually applied, that will wipe out entire regions of the globe. LOL.

Actually, that is not what the current guidance recommends for judges, it goes to explain to expect clone robots from a club due to their club design process and to use the engineering notebooks to determine which robot is the origin of the design. It is a long audio annotated presentation.