EVEN MORE Telescopig Lift Troubleshooting

My team just encountered a whole 'nother ballpark of issues with our telescoping lift. The lift has been so problematic, we may just scrap the idea entirely…

We tried having two separate rows of chain. On each shaft, there were two sprockets controlling a chain. The lift only has 2 segments.

The lift is still leaning slightly, and I have no idea what to do. But our real problem- when we turned on the lift, it went up a little and then collapsed. We spent so much time lining thing up, tightening things, and so forth that I have no idea what the problem is. HELP PLEASE!

Personally, I have no experience with telescoping lifts. But I’m sure if you can post some photos, that will help others on the forum understand what you’re doing. Also, try to provide more details about the machine’s behavior. For example, what exactly do you mean by “collapse”? Did the motors shut down and the entire thing sink down? Or did you have some sort of structural failure? a chain break? or what?

Sorry, I don’t have photos available. But I can tell you the chain did not break, and the motors did not shut down. It’s like the gears violently twisted out of alignment and fell.

Apologies for my lack of accurate vex vocabulary, sort of a newbie.

It’s still a little bit confusing trying to understand the problem. Will it be possible for you to get photos? Also could you describe the problem a little more?
From what I see all I can think of at the moment is a few things:
Try moving it up and down when the chain is not connected–is anything preventing the lift from going up?
Are any of the shafts bending?
Is your chain tight enough?
Otherwise I can’t really offer any other advice except to check every part of the lift (the slides, c-channels, sprockets, chain, etc.) and make sure they are working fine individually.

Are you speaking about gears or sprockets? The sprockets fit with the chain.