Expansion Zone

This is a question about the rules: If the robot starts out a8 by 18, can it have portion of it that folds out that cannot be folded back in? Asking this because of the expansion zone

I’ve moved this thread to the general competitions channel.

@tanigross: For future reference, if you’re looking for an official answer to a rules-related question, it should be asked in the Official Q&A.

For an unofficial answer from a long-time ref, yes. If you’re expanding vertically, just be sure to never leave the expansion zone if you can’t restore your bot to under 18" tall. For horizontal expansion, there is no rule requiring the ability to contract after the start of the match. Just, y’know, be sure to respect all the other rules about robot construction, too.