Flywheel Velocity Control

Hello everyone. I’m requesting assistance with EasyC V4 for Cortex. I’m quite new to programming (usually the builder/driver), and need some help. I’ve decided to build a flywheel, but need to know a few things first. Is it possible to make a channel on the joystick do multiple things? For instance, in driver control, if Ch5 But1 is pressed, one operation performs, and if Ch5 But2 is pressed, another unrelated operation performs. Also, is it possible to turn on and off the VEX indicators when certain criteria are met, or when a button is pressed? Finally, I know nothing about velocity control for flywheels. I’ve never used any sensor other than a limit switch (I’m a pretty analog guy). If someone could please help me with any of these things, it would be greatly appreciated. I’ve tried to search for answers, but all I found were posts where people quoted robotc or other programs, and said to put that in EasyC. I can’t really understand that stuff, and I’d like to know what I’m coding, instead of just copying and pasting into EasyC (also something I don’t know how to do). Thanks for your time!

Now firstly I don’t use easyC, so instead of posting robotC code i’m just going to post pseudo-type code with some explanations.

Okay Firstly you could achieve this by having a variable that holds what set of commands to run when you move the Joystick. Then change the variable depending on what button you press (and we place all of this in our main loop).

while(true)
{
	int JoystickCommands = 0;
	if( Button 1 is pressed )
	{
		JoystickCommands = 0;
	}
	else if( Button 2 is pressed )
	{
		JoystickCommands = 1;
	}

Then in the loop we run a different set of commands depending on the value of the variable.

if( JoystickCommands == 0 )
{
	// Do your first set of controller commands here
	// motor 1 = Joystick Channel 1
}
else if( JoystickCommands = 1 )
{
	// Do your second set of controller commands here
}