Full VEXnet protocol specification?

Does anyone know if there’s a full protocol specification for VEXnet? I found this short description http://www.vexrobotics.com/wiki/Vex_Packet_Protocol on the wiki. I’m considering writing drivers for Java and Objective C. Having the full protocol specification would make it much easier and avoid reverse engineering all of this stuff. There is an existing java driver for VEXNet [http://sourceforge.net/projects/javavexdriver/ which supports some features, but not the entire set.

Being an open source programmer, I would open source the drivers on google code once it’s working.

thanks

peter](http://sourceforge.net/projects/javavexdriver/ which supports some features, but not the entire set.)

on the wiki. I’m considering writing drivers for Java and Objective C. Having the full protocol specification would make it much easier and avoid reverse engineering all of this stuff. There is an existing java driver for VEXNet [http://sourceforge.net/projects/javavexdriver/ which supports some features, but not the entire set.

Being an open source programmer, I would open source the drivers on google code once it’s working.

thanks

peter](http://sourceforge.net/projects/javavexdriver/ which supports some features, but not the entire set.)

VEXnet really refers to the 802.11g wifi communications, the protocols on the wiki are serial communication protocols between cortex and LCD display, and joystick and partner joystick. If you goal is communication between PC and the cortex (via the programmers port on the joystick), then the protocol is not really determined by VEX, it’s up to the code on the user side of the cortex (where ROBOTC and EasyC run their code) and is independent of VEXnet.

What’s the intended application?

The intended use is a generic connection driver for VEXNet, which would handle the low level communication. Above that, other people can then implement the necessary libraries to send easyC or RobotC commands.