Graphical Robot C question

I’m relatively new to coding and am teaching a middle school class with Vex IQ. I am having an issue with one of my group’s codes, but the code seems very straight-forward. It seems to get stuck on a block and repeat the function beyond the instructions. For example, if the last block said “forward - 2 rotations”, the robot will continue moving forward until shut off. The most recent code has the claw arm coming up, but instead of moving back down, the motor continues to try to keep raising the arm.

We have reconfigured the motor and sensor setup, and disconnected sensors that are not being used. We have also rebooted the brain, the computer, updating firmware for each device. I had the students re-code a new program, and have replaced the brain. I’m at a loss, at this point. Any help is greatly appreciated!

I’m attaching a picture of the most recent code that is continuing to raise the arm even when it is fully extended up against the brain.
code

Remove lines 1 and 4. These lines turn on motors until there’s a stopotor command. When controlling motors, either use setmotor/wait/stopmotor, or functions like lines 2&3, but not both.

Thank you. We did try that before, but it creates a different issue. I removed them again, but now the first three functions work, but we get a high pitched whine from the arm motor, and the claw will not lift at all.

movemotor commands are executed one at a time, so it tries to move motor 7 (and can’t because motor 10 is not moving at the same time), so it gets stuck on line 5 waiting for the motor to rotate a revolution. So, to move the arm, you need to use “setmultiplemotor” commands instead of movemotor commands. Try this:
Setmultiplemotors, 50, 7, 10
Wait some short amount of time
Stopmultiplemotors, 7, 10

Thank you so much! I will try that tomorrow!