Gyroscope Kalman Filter

Hello,

I’d like to be able to tell the exact angle that the robot is facing at a given time. So even if the robot is moving and rotating at the same time, I should be able to tell which way the robot is facing.

We purchased a gyroscope but the error accumulates very quickly in practice and we’re left with unusable values.

How would I go about making the values more accurate? I’ve read about Kalman filters which would use an accelerometer to correct the error. Would this work in practice with a Vex accelerometer and could anyone help me out with the (RobotC) programming for this? I’m a decent programmer but the kalman filter is a bit over my head.

Thanks,
Dan

I use the following code for the gyro, it still needs some refinement as the original was written several months ago but I find it adequate for a 3 minute match. Not sure that a kalman filter is really necessary, make sure the gyro has a solid mount, use a short cable to the cortex and keep sources of interference away from it (ie. don’t run near motor wires). The robot should be stationary when the gyro is initialized. This code probably needs ROBOTC 3.50 or later.

Init the gyro as follows, GyroInput is the analog sensor port.

// Gyro init
    GyroInit( GyroInput );

Call GyroGetAngle() to get the current gyro value in degrees. Here was some code where I used it in some field centric drive code using mecanum wheels.

void
DriveSystemMecanumTask()
{
    int forward, right, turn;
    int temp;
    float theta;

// Get joystick values
    DriveSystemGetControlValues( &forward, &right, &turn );

// Field centric control
    if( theDrive.type == Mecanum4MotorFieldCentric )
    {
        // Get gyro angle in radians
        theta = degreesToRadians( GyroGetAngle() );

// rotate coordinate system
        temp  = forward * cos(theta) - right * sin(theta);
        right = forward * sin(theta) + right * cos(theta);
        forward = temp;
    }

// Send to drive