If we hang and parts of our robot is on the outside but is not 12 inches off the ground does it still count???

See the definition of High Hanging: (I’ve bolded parts for emphasis)

Basically, the referee must be able to slide a sheet of paper on top of the field perimeter, and still be underneath your robot. To answer your question, yes, the robot must be entirely above the field perimeter, regardless of the exact position of the robot

Just to expand on that, it includes such trivial things as wires, so make sure that everything is above the 12" mark when you hang, as a stray rubber band or wire can really ruin your day when you least need it!