Hanging

<SG9> Robots may not intentionally grasp, grapple or attach to any Field Elements. Violations of this rule will result in a Disqualification.

If we can hang on the trough and can get off does that go under that??? :confused:

This is correct, even if you can get off, its still illegal to intentionally grasp, grapple or attach to any Field Elements.

I believe it would but I’m just wondering why you would want to hang on the trough?

Well…all i can tell you(because im trying to keep the design on a down low) is that its a defensive strategy.

I can see how that would work then.
From my interpretation of the rules I would think that it would not be allowed though.
If you are able to I wish you luck though!
Well… I do anyway so good luck with the season! :slight_smile:

Same to you! :smiley:

Were you planning on resting your robot over the trough to block all scoring inn the troughs?

I do believe that covering the Trough is legal, yet hanging on it would be illegal.

Someone correct me if I’m reading the rule incorrectly, though.

We have a trough already, and I can tell you right now that it is not strong enough to hold a robot up. It’s made of plastic all the way between the towers.

Yes ITS GENIUSSS

I thought of defending the sacks…not the goal…

@snowpenguin:

Are you serious??? well there goes that idea…

@EAKC:

My though was defend the trough and below the trough. No one could get over or under and your alliance scores behind you.

Then make a wallbot. Just block them that way.

@TheCyborgs:

Hm, wouldn’t it also help to be able to score as well or was that part of the plan?

@Ephemeral_Being:
But the wallbot could potentially be pushed.

With the 3" wheels and the fact that I’m guessing 95% of the robots will be geared for high speed? I’d bet you could lock them into a small part of the field.

@EAKC:

There would also be an arm that would throw bags to our side… forgot to say that.

Make sure you don’t violate the trapping rule…

Psh. That’s going to be easy to avoid. The “trapping” rule says you would only need to give them over 1 tile to move in. In order to trap both robots, the would have at least that much room.

Unless I misread the rule.

If you trap both robots, you would need to give them ~2 tiles. Each would consume part of one tile, limiting the room they have to maneuver.

//Andrew