HELP: Auton Code Revision

So, I’m using quadrature encoders for my starstruck bot. I’m new to robotC, so I don’t know which functions I need to be using to control the encoders. The function, “forwardDistance”, is essentially meant to have the robot move a set amount of inches as inputted in the function by converting it to encoder ticks and then moving the motors for that much time. Below is what I have after staring at documentation for a while and googling how many encoder ticks 393’s have per rotation, and it seems correct. However, this code doesn’t work. The motors just run infinitely.

Please note before you read, most of the comments are for my teammates, who don’t know robotC.

#pragma config(I2C_Usage, I2C1, i2cSensors)
#pragma config(Sensor, I2C_1,  hdleft,         sensorQuadEncoderOnI2CPort,    , AutoAssign )
#pragma config(Sensor, I2C_2,  hdright,        sensorQuadEncoderOnI2CPort,    , AutoAssign )
#pragma config(Sensor, I2C_3,  hdmid,          sensorQuadEncoderOnI2CPort,    , AutoAssign )
#pragma config(Motor,  port3,           hdmid,         tmotorVex393_MC29, PIDControl, encoderPort, I2C_3)
#pragma config(Motor,  port4,           hdleft,        tmotorVex393_MC29, PIDControl, driveLeft, encoderPort, I2C_1)
#pragma config(Motor,  port5,           hdright,       tmotorVex393_MC29, PIDControl, reversed, driveRight, encoderPort, I2C_2)
//*!!Code automatically generated by 'ROBOTC' configuration wizard               !!*//

// begin math functions

// begin robot movement functions
void resetEncoders() {
	resetMotorEncoder(hdleft);
	resetMotorEncoder(hdright);
	resetMotorEncoder(hdmid);
}
void forwardDistance(int tenthInch, int speed)  // never use 127 motor power, or pid won't be able to adjust
{

//convert "tenthInch" to encoder ticks
	int goal = (61 * tenthInch) /10;
	//high torque motor ticks per rotation: 627, high speed: 392, turbo speed: 261 all for VEX 393 motors
	//circumference of 3.25" omni wheels = 10.20500"