Help needed with Programming Hardware Kit

I am new to VEX Robotics and this forum. Can anyone help me with a problem I’m having when I try to use RobotC to wirelessly program my VEX Clawbot using the Programming Hardware Kit (post 2012 version of the kit)? I keep getting this error message:

Failed to verify that the serial link is connected to a Robot Controller
      COM Port 'COM8' cannot detect a VEXnet Joystick or VEX Cortex 

Here is what I have already done successfully:

• Installed the VEXnet Serial USB Driver from the VEX website
  • Used the VEXnet Firmware Upgrade Utility to update the cortex and joystick with latest firmware
  • Used the VEXnet Key 2.0 Firmware Upgrade Utility to update the keys with the latest firmware
  • Paired the joystick with the cortex and then drove then Clawbot wirelessly
  • Installed RobotC Version 4.52 on a laptop running Windows 8.1 Enterprise 32 bit
  • Connected my laptop to the cortex with a USB cable, and then updated the cortex with RobotC firmware
  • Successfully programmed the Clawbot with a RobotC program using a USB cable connecting the laptop to the Cortex

But a problem happens when I plug one end of the Programming Hardware Kit into the USB port of the computer and the other end into the “program” jack on the joystick. When I click “compile and download” in RobotC that’s when I get the above error message. I looked at the COM port settings in RobotC and the COM port appears to be recognizing the Programming Hardware Kit, but not the joystick it’s plugged into.

I made sure the joystick firmware is updated and I tried again with the joystick and cortex turned on and also off, but nothing works. I made sure the cortex and joystick both have keys plugged in. I even installed the Prolific USB driver just in case it was needed (it shouldn’t be because I’m using the newer version of the Wireless Hardware Kit), but that didn’t help.

What should I try next?