Help with header files in Pros

I am new to PROS for V5, and I’m used to RobotC. I’m confused about the purpose of header files, and I have a couple of questions.

In a code example I saw, tasks were defined in source, with corresponding header files in include that contained all of the declarations. I don’t usually use tasks, though, I just use functions and classes. Since I didn’t understand why both source and header files were necessary, I tried putting all of my classes and functions into header files in include, with nothing in source. To my surprise, this worked perfectly, and I was able to create classes and call the functions from opcontrol(). Is putting your code in header files a bad practice, and could this lead to problems?

Also, I am kind of confused about the purpose of #ifndef, #define, and #endif. I noticed these in the header files main.h and api.h, and in the code example that I saw the team had used these in the header files that they made. When I looked it up, it seemed like the reason had to do with not defining something twice, but I didn’t use this in my header files and it worked fine. I was curious, so I commented out this code from main.h and still the program worked fine. So what is the purpose of #ifndef, #define, and #endif, and should I put these into my header files?

Thanks for any help!

Check out this article about using header files:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/cpp/cpp/header-files-cpp?view=vs-2017

And this thread about best practices:

2 Likes

It should be fine to put #ifndef #define and #endif in header files. Endif and Ifndef are used essentially as automated comments. So, If you set your Ifndef to a true variable or value, that code block (ending with endif) will be run. If false, that code will be ignored by the compiler.