Help With Multiple Autonomous Codes

Right now our code looks like this:

The autonomous starts when we press a button.
We want it so when the judges start autonomous, the code we pressed when the brain started would run.
How do you do this?

It’s the referees and/or TM Manager that starts autonomous. Judges are the guys who make sure that your logbook follows a design process and interviews you.

Anyways, I’m not experienced with VEXCode Blocks, but the way your code is set up, it would run the drive once the button is pressed. The reason why you were told to set up each button with a variable was to reference within autonomous. The pseudo code would be something akin to

when program started{
draw all buttons
set all variables to false
while (all variables are false){
if a button is pressed, set one variable to true}
end set of code}

Then, there would probably be another flag

when autonomous started{
If(variable 1 is true) {run auton 1}
else if (variable 2 is true) {run auton 2}
else if (variable 3 is true) {run auton 3}
end code}

You need a flag that checks for when autonomous starts, and references the variables initialized, instead of putting the drive and turn functions within your setup. I don’t want to give you the code outright so you learn, but I’m willing to help once you understand my suggestion.

3 Likes

I can’t find the if(variable is true) block. But then again, I suck at finding stuff.

No problem! It’s always hard learning for the very first time. You would use an IF statement, and also the lime green operator that checks if two things are equal. Then, you would put the variable (which should be an orange oval) on one side, and probably type in true for the other. this isn’t the most efficient way to do it

so you make a variable named true?

No, the variable can be named anything, in Blocks you would make a boolean, which has a value of either “true” or “false”. In this case you begin it on true.

2 Likes

oops I get it. You TYPE in true.