High Stakes Game Manual

As I was reading the game manual I got very confused when reading Section 5 - Robot Skills. I know typo’s happen and you do find and fix them quickly typically but this felt a bit bigger than that. Under the Robot Skills Challenge Description it states:

“All 24 red Rings and all 5 Mobile Goals are used, but some start in different locations”

Then has this image where it indeed shows 24 rings.

But follows up immediately with this:


Where it shows twenty seven rings.

I assume the middle three rings in front of the red alliance wall stake are not supposed to be there. I thought I would bring this to attention so it can be fixed, receive clarification that my assumption is correct, and clear confusion for anyone else who might notice this.

8 Likes

I found some issues in the new game manual

According to Section 5 of the new manual, the rules state “All 24 red Rings and all 5 Mobile Goals are used,” but the attached diagram showed directly below show 27 rings in play

In addition, shows this image showing what robots can expand to, but they demonstrate robot 2 as breaking the plane of all three tiers, not two like the manual states

Thanks! Any clarification would be appreciated :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Ok so I THINK (I am not sure so pls don’t go after me) that you robot can be in three “zones” (what I would call the area between the lines) but, you cannot be touching more than two of the lines at a time. The first example is ok because it touches just the floor (which is considered a level) and the first level of the ladder. Example two is ok because it only touches the first and second level of the ladder. But example three is not ok because it touches the floor, the first level of the ladder AND the second level of the ladder. Likewise example four is touching the first, second and third level of the ladder. I hope this makes sense and helps

3 Likes

Yeah I saw this too!

In addition, robot 2 in this image is spanning 3 elevation tiers, and shouldn’t count as legal?

The top render image is correct.

The middle layout image will be corrected in v0.2 in a couple of weeks, if not sooner.

15 Likes

Since the ground counts as a tier, since it’s elevated above the ground it just can’t reach above the third tier.

2 Likes

The reason it is a legal vertical expansion is because whilst it looks like it should be illegal it is actually only breaking the line of two.

2 Likes

I suspect the picture is correct and the description is inartfully worded.

I think the ‘planes’ they are referring to are the boundaries of each respective level.

  • Robot 1 is breaking planes 1 and 2 (floor and first rung)
  • Robot 2 is breaking planes 2 and 3 (first rung and second rung)
  • Robot 3 is breaking planes 1, 2 and 3 (floor, first rung and second rung)
  • Robot 4 is breaking planes 2,3 and 4 (first rung, second rung and third rung)
4 Likes

I feel like there is a typo in the AWP part of the manual, because it says neither robot touching or crossing the plane of the starting line, but then says one robot has to be contacting the ladder. Im just wondering if this is just something im not understanding and if so, could someone please explain it.

I have a question about two of the drawings in the appendix in relation to rings and stakes. The ring specification drawing shows the rings as having a 3.00" diameter for the hole in the ring. The next drawing (Goal Specifications) shows the top part of the stakes having a width of 3.56.

Just curious to see if this might be an error, or if rings are intended to be “forced” down onto the stakes.

How would Drow know this if he wasnt on the gdc???

1 Like

Because the floor is considered a level, you can essentially see the small amount of squish your wheels have on the floor as breaking the plane of the floor

1 Like

Here is a mock-up without those 3 rings in the center on the 270 side (AI erasers are nice). I like to laminate these images to help students set the field correctly at practice and tournaments. It is pretty helpful.

High Stakes Field Setup PDF

4 Likes

random question but if you flipped a mobile goal and put in in the corner on the top of the latter so that the other teams couldn’t get it would that be legal. Don’t see final rule on it

I was wondering how the alliance wall stakes are played in skills and I was wondering if SG10 rules over the alliance wall stakes in skills, implying that sense you’re playing as red you can use the red wall stake but not the blue one. Let me know if I’m missing a rule or if you have any thoughts on this. Thanks!
SG10: Robots may not directly or indirectly interact with the opponent’s Alliance Wall Stake. This includes both Scoring and/or removing Rings of either color. For the purposes of this rule, “Score” (and “remove”) means causing them to satisfy (or no longersatisfy) the criteria listed in SC3. SC3 being clarification on what a “scored” ring is.

1 Like

I think it means that both robots must move away from their starting position. They both start crossing the starting line, They shouldn’t be crossing it at the end of auton period.

1 Like

Just because I’m not on the GDC doesn’t mean that I don’t know how it operates. :person_shrugging:

11 Likes

The yellow tops are flexible. As Grant showed in the dome, easier to put on than take off.

2 Likes

Going off of DRow’s LinkedIn profile, he manages “customer experience” (I think that’s just the VEX website and publicity kind of), so he usually gets the details of stuff ahead of time.
Plus, he’s DRow-ning in knowledge.

DRow Alliance 2019-2020 - Accepting ...

2 Likes

I agree. My coach does this and it is very helpful.