Horizontal expansion minor or major violations in finals match

<G13> Horizontal expansion is limited during a Match. Robots may only expand horizontally beyond the 11” x 19” starting dimension limit if they are contacting the Expansion Zone.

<G14> Don’t cross the Fence Line until Contact. Robots may only extend over the Fence Line and “break the plane” of the 3-dimensional area of the 2-Point Goal Zone if they are contacting the Expansion Zone.

<G15> Discs that have crossed the Fence Line are “off limits”. Robots may not contact any Discs which have fully crossed the Fence Line, regardless of whether the Robot is contacting an Expansion Zone or not.

<G15> Violation Notes: The intent of rules and are to prevent Robots from interacting with Discs which have already crossed the Fence Line. All examples below refer to Figure 17.

The following examples would be considered Minor Violations:

• Contacting a Disc while legally expanding, such that the Disc does not change its point value; for example, Robot A contacting Disc D in the figure above without pushing it into a Goal Zone

• Robot A pushing Disc E off the border and into the 2-Point Goal Zone; because Disc E is resting on the border of the Contact Zone but not touching the Contact Zone, it is already Scored and the interaction will not change its point value.

The following examples would be considered Score Affecting, and therefore Major Violations:

• Robot B or C pushing Disc F from the 2-Point Goal Zone into the 3-Point Goal Zone

• A mechanism which reaches past the Fence while launching a Disc (e.g., Robot C in the figure above

<T12> Disqualifications. A Team that is Disqualified in a Qualification Match receives zero (0) points for

the Match. The other Team on their Alliance will still receive points for the Match.

a. In Finals Matches, Disqualifications apply to the entire Alliance, not just one Team. An Alliance

that is Disqualified in a Finals Match will receive zero (0) points.


A-If a robot releases a touching mechanism (while properly in the contact area), and the mechanism does not directly land in the desired contact zone (e.g., in blue instead of green contact zone, in 4-pt goal zone instead of the green contact zone, etc.), may the robot move/pivot to bring the extended mechanism into the desired zone?

B-If the above mechanism leaves the field/field perimeter during initial deployment or adjustment, may the robot move/pivot to bring the extended mechanism back into the field?

C-If the above mechanism touches a disc past the fence line, causing the disc to move laterally in the same goal zone (e.g., disc starts in 4-pt goal zone, is then tapped by above extended mechanism accidentally during pivot, and then disc ends still in 4-pt goal zone), this is merely a minor violation akin to example 1&2, correct?

D- Same scenario as C: Are any of the contacted discs removed from play, or are they treated as they were scored prior to the touch?

E-Same scenario as C, but disc is tapped from one goal zone to another (e.g., 4-pt to 3-pt, 4-pt to 1-pt, etc.), then this is a score affecting major violation and DQ akin to example 3, correct?

F-In a Finals Match, scenario C and would likely NOT DQ the alliance for a first-time, minor violation. Conversely, if scenario D were to occur in a Final Match, likely WOULD DQ the entire alliance for a score affecting, major violation, even if this is a first violation. Correct?

Nothing in the rules say it can’t, so yes.

Nothing in the rules say it can’t, so yes.

This example has specific red text indicating that no change in points and therefore it is a minor violation.

What in the rules leads you to believe the disc should be removed? This is a minor violation and play on.

This is score affecting and therefore a major violation and DQ.

Agree on C, minor violation, no DQ. I believe you mean scenario E for your second example and yes a score affecting major violation in finals would DQ the entire alliance.


This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.