Horizontal Expansion?

If we retract a part of the robot after the match starts, and extend it back later in the match. Is it legal?

Welcome to the forums! SG2 from the game manual will answer your question

“ Horizontal expansion is limited. Once the Matchbegins, Robots may only expand beyond their starting size and configuration within the following criteria:

  1. Robots may never exceed an overall footprint of 24” x 18”. For reference, 24” is roughly the width of one foam field tile.
  2. From the Robot’s perspective, only one “X/Y” direction may expand outside of the starting configuration during the Match (i.e., the Robot can’t get both wider and longer). This single expansion direction must be identified and measured during Robot inspection, as shown in the figures below.
  3. Vertical expansion is addressed separately by rule . Robots may expand both horizontally and vertically; the top of the Robot is not considered an “X/Y” direction in the context of this rule.”
2 Likes

I would assume no just to be safe but here is a link to the Q&A for vex
https://www.robotevents.com/V5RC/2024-2025/QA

The Q&A is closed now.

The robot starts extended. If the robot with the extended mechanism fits within the starting dimensions (18 in x 18 in), it’s okay

1 Like