I just tried sending two by clicking “show desktop site” and they ended up being public (which may have caused some confusion)
When you make a new conversation there will be a line saying: “everyone can view this conversation.” If you click change then you can enter the names of the people you want to pm.
Picture attached here, for reference.
Thanks. You got my pm that started as a public post for some reason, right?